Four Corners Monument

Four Corners Monument

Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico and Utah – The Four Corners Region

The Four Corners Monument marks the quadripoint in the Southwestern United States where the states of Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, and Utah meet. It is the only point in the United States shared by four states, leading to this area being called the Four Corners region. The monument also marks the boundary between two semi-autonomous native American governments, the Navajo Nation, which maintains the monument as a tourist attraction, and the Ute Mountain Ute Tribe Reservation.

The origins of the state boundaries marked by the monument occurred during the American Civil War, when the United States Congress acted to form governments in the area to combat Confederate ambitions for the region.

Claims are sometimes made that the monument was misplaced in the initial surveys. The monument is placed 1,807 feet (551 m) east of where modern surveyors would mark the point. However, once a survey commissioned to establish a boundary has been accepted by the involved parties, the survey markers are legally binding, regardless of any error that is later discovered. General U.S. land principles, law, and the U.S. Supreme Court have established that the location of the monument is the legal corner of the four states.

Return to Image Gallery

Copyright ©2018 Midwest Aerial Photography All Rights Reserved.